16 - 19 September 2024
Edinburgh, United Kingdom

SPIE Security + Defence

The leading European conference for optical sciences for security and defence systems

About Security + Defence

It is the premier European conference for engineers and scientists using sensors and photonics to advance the fields of security, defence, and counterterrorism.

Review the twelve conference topics and consider submitting an abstract.

Laser image for Security + Defence meeting

Join us in Edinburgh for Security + Defence 2024

SPIE Security + Defence is the leading international conference for engineers and scientists involved in the latest developments in sensing, data and signal analysis, optronics, quantum science, optical technologies, and funding programmes. 

Security + Defence conference topics

• Target and Background Signatures: Traditional methods or Artificial Intelligence
• Electro-Optical and Infrared Systems: Technology and Applications and Electro-optical Remote Sensing
• Electro-Optical Remote Sensing
• Technologies for Optical Countermeasures
• High Power Lasers: Technology and Systems, Platforms, Effects
• Millimetre Wave and Terahertz Sensors and Technology
• Emerging Imaging and Sensing Technologies for Security and Defence
• Advanced Manufacturing Technologies for Micro- and Nanosystems in Security and Defence
• Optical Materials and Biomaterials in Security and Defence Systems Technology
• Quantum Technologies and Quantum Information Science
• Counterterrorism, Crime Fighting, Forensics, and Surveillance Technologies
• Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning in Defence Applications