SPIE Fellows

Honored SPIE Members of distinction

Each year, SPIE promotes Members as new Fellows of the Society. Fellows are Members of distinction who have made significant scientific and technical contributions in the multidisciplinary fields of optics, photonics, and imaging. They are honored for their technical achievement and for their service to the general optics community and to SPIE in particular. Nearly 1,800 SPIE members have become Fellows since the Society's inception in 1955.

To nominate a colleague for this distinction, please view the nomination criteria.

Nominate an SPIE Fellow

47 new SPIE Fellows elected in 2024

Dr. Craig K. Abbey

Univ. of California, Santa Barbara

Prof. Igor Aharonovich

Univ. of Technology Sydney

Mr. Tom G. Baur

Meadowlark Optics, Inc.

Prof. Christian Brosseau

Univ. de Bretagne Occidentale

Dr. Lynda E. Busse

U.S. Naval Research Lab.

Prof. Hui Cao

Yale Univ.

Prof. Shih-Chi Chen

The Chinese Univ. of Hong Kong

Dr. Yu Chen

Binghamton Univ.

Dr. Richard A. Crocombe

Crocombe Spectroscopic Consulting, LLC

Dr. Brandon D. Gallas

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Prof. Liang Gao

UCLA Samueli School of Engineering

Dr. Sivanandan S. Harilal

Pacific Northwest National Lab.

Prof. Brajesh Kumar Kaushik

Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee

Prof. Ho Wai (Howard) Lee

Univ. of California, Irvine

Dr. Myungjun Lee

SAMSUNG Electronics Co., Ltd.

Prof. Tae-Woo Lee

Seoul National Univ.

Dr. Shuai Leng

Mayo Clinic

Prof. Uriel Levy

The Hebrew Univ. of Jerusalem

Prof. Jonathan T.C. Liu

Univ. of Washington

Dr. Amalia Martínez-García

Centro de Investigaciones en Óptica, A.C.

Dr. Paul C. Montgomery

Lab. des sciences de l'Ingénieur, de l'Informatique et de l'Imagerie

Dr. Andreas E. Savakis

Rochester Institute of Technology

Dr. Behrouz Shabestari

National Institute of Biomedical Imaging and Bioengineering

Prof. Venugopal Rao Soma

Univ. of Hyderabad

Dr. Ronald M. Summers

National Institutes of Health Clinical Ctr.

Prof. Guillermo J. Tearney

Massachusetts General Hospital

Dr. Sudhir B. Trivedi

Brimrose Corp. of America

Dr. Mark A. van de Kerkhof

ASML Netherlands B.V.

Dr. Jan van Schoot

ASML Netherlands B.V.

Prof. Ken-Tye Yong

The Univ. of Sydney

Prof. Chao Zhou

Washington Univ. in St. Louis

Prof. Feifan Zhou

Hainan Univ.

Dr. Weimin Zhou

DEVCOM Army Research Lab.