• Marketing
  • Information
  • Recruiting
  • Industry Events
  • Photonics Clusters
  • Asia-Pacific Clusters
    Australian and New Zealand Optical Society
    Korean Association for Photonics Industry Development
    Optics Valley of China
    Optics and Photonics Society of Singapore
    Canadian Clusters
    European Clusters
    USA Clusters
    Clustering Resources
Print PageEmail Page

Optics Valley of China (OVC)

Contact information


No 777, High-tech Avenue 
Wuhan 430075, Hubei province, PRC.

At the junction of High-tech Avenue and Optics Valley Road 4; part of the Administrative Committee of Wuhan East Lake High-tech Development Zone.

Telephone: +86 027 87804115

Website: chinaopticsvalley.com

OVC Expo

View the event website


East Lake High-tech Zone is short for Wuhan East Lake High-tech Development Zone, which is also known as Optics Valley of China (OVC).

East Lake High-tech Zone was founded in 1988 and was approved by the State Council in succession as one of the first national high-tech zones, the second National Innovation Demonstration Zone, the China (Hubei) Pilot Free Trade Zone – Wuhan Area and the core area for the Hubei Cross-Straits Industrial Cooperation Zone. Optics Valley has also been recognized as a National Optoelectronic Information Industrial Base, a National Bio-industry Base, a talent base for central SOEs, a National Innovation and Entrepreneurship Demonstration Base, as well as a National Memory Base.

The zone has a planned area of 518 square kilometers and a population of about 1.8 million. It has 42 institutes of higher learning, including Wuhan University and Huazhong University of Science and Technology. It also has 56 research institutes at the national, provincial and ministerial levels and more than 300,000 professional and technical personnel, making Optics Valley one of the three most talent-intensive areas in the country.

The zone has eight sub-districts: Guandong, Fozuling, Baoxie, Jiufeng, Huashan, Zuoling, Longquan and Binhu. It has eight industrial parks: the Biolake, Wuhan Future City, Wuhan East Lake Free Trade Zone, Optics Valley Optoelectronic Information Industrial Park, Optics Valley Modern Service Industrial Park, Optics Valley Smart Manufacturing Industrial Park, Optics Valley Chinese Sci-tech City and Optics Valley Central City.