Nobel recognition continues for optics and photonics

An update to the Nobel Prize timeline from Advanced Photonics
30 December 2023
John M. Dudley

In November of 2023, photonics once again took center stage in Stockholm. The 2023 Nobel Prize in physics was awarded to Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz, and Anne L'Huillier for the generation of attosecond light pulses, and the 2023 Nobel Prize in chemistry was awarded to Moungi Bawendi, Louis Brus, and Alexei Ekimov for the discovery and synthesis of quantum dots. The impact of optics and photonics is becoming more evident with how often photonics-related topics are recognized with Nobel prizes, but this is not at all surprising given the centrality of light in many key areas of scientific discovery and invention.

The many Nobel successes of light and lasers were highlighted in a 2020 article in the journal Advanced Photonics, accompanied by a timeline poster that has been displayed around the world. However, with the recent recognition of attosecond science and quantum dots in 2023 and quantum entanglement in 2022, the editorial team has now prepared a new version that is fully up to date. It makes a fantastic addition to walls of offices and labs, and it can also be used effectively when teaching to ensure that students fully understand the historical development of our field. The poster is available as a free download.

Laser Nobel Poster 2023 update

About Advanced Photonics

Copublished by SPIE and Chinese Laser Press, Advanced Photonics is a highly selective, Gold Open Access, international journal publishing innovative research in all areas of optics and photonics, including fundamental and applied research. Co-editors in chief are: Xiao-Cong (Larry) Yuan, Shenzhen University and Zhejiang Lab, China and Anatoly Zayats, King's College London, United Kingdom.

Recent News
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research