• Explore Membership
  • Career Development
  • Student Services
  • Student Awards
    Student Chapters
    Application, Requirements, and Criteria
    Named SPIE Scholarships
    Michael Kidger Scholarship
    Nick Cobb Memorial Scholarship
    The Yaver Scholarship
    Student Conference Support
  • SPIE Member-Only Content
  • Corporate Membership
Print PageEmail Page

Nick Cobb Memorial Scholarship

The Nick Cobb Memorial Scholarship

The Nick Cobb Memorial Scholarship supports the education of a graduate student studying in a field related to advanced lithography.

Originally funded for three years ending in 2021, the Nick Cobb Scholarship will be awarded to one student annually for an additional period of three years (2022, 2023, 2024) at an amount of $US10,000 per year.

Applications are currently being accepted for the 2023 scholarship. Apply here before the deadline of 28 October 2022.

Meet the recipients of the 2019, 2020, 2021, and 2022 scholarships below.

In partnership with Siemens EDA, the scholarship honors the memory of Nick Cobb, an SPIE Senior Member and Chief Engineer at Mentor Graphics – now Siemens EDA – and his groundbreaking contributions enabling optical and process proximity correction for IC manufacturing.

Nick Cobb
Mentor Graphics

The annual award of $US10,000, jointly funded by SPIE and Siemens EDA, recognizes an exemplary graduate student working in the field of lithography for semiconductor manufacturing.

Siemens EDA also provides the winner travel support to SPIE Advanced Lithography to receive the award.

2022 Recipient Yonghwi Kwon

Yonghwi Kwon is pursuing an MS-PhD integrated course at the school of Electrical Engineering at the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), with research areas in machine learning guided physical design, computational lithography, and low power design, with a particular interest in integrating the manufacturing process of lithography with the design process. 

Read the press release to learn more.

Yonghwi Kwon

2021 Recipient Yuka Esashi

Yuka Esashi, pursuing her PhD in physics at the University of Colorado Boulder in the Kapteyn-Murnane group, was awarded the 2021 Nick Cobb Memorial Scholarship. Read the press release to learn more.

2020 Recipient Luke Long

Luke Long, pursuing his PhD in the physics department of the University of California at Berkeley, was awarded the 2020 Nick Cobb Memorial Scholarship SPIE Advanced Lithography 2020 in San Jose, California. Read the press release to learn more.

2019 Recipient Haoyu Yang

Haoyu Yang, pursuing his PhD at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, was awarded the inaugural Nick Cobb Memorial Scholarship at SPIE Advanced Lithography 2019 in San Jose, California. Read the press release to learn more.

Have questions? Please email them to scholarships@spie.org.