• Explore Membership
  • Student Services
  • Early Career Resources
  • Ways to get involved with SPIE
    SPIE Career Lab
    SPIE-Hillenkamp Fellowship
    Application Process
    Support the Fellowship
    Professional Development Webinar Series
    Early Career Advocates
  • Corporate Membership
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE-Hillenkamp Fellowship

SPIE-Franz Hillenkamp Postdoctoral Fellowship

The SPIE-Franz Hillenkamp Fellowship provides an annual award of US$75,000 to translate new biomedical optics and biophotonics technologies to clinical practice for improving human health.

The fellowship honors Hillenkamp's distinguished career as a researcher, teacher, and mentor who had an enormous international impact. A German scientist, he introduced the first medical laser applications laboratory and marked the genesis of translational research in biomedical optics in Europe in the 1970s.

The application cycle for the 2020 Fellowship has closed.

Franz Hillenkamp
Franz Hillenkamp

Apply for the Fellowship

Applying for the Fellowship

Young investigators with a PhD, MD, or equivalent degree are eligible to apply. There are no restrictions on geographical location; however, applicants and hosting labs must propose original research in biomedical optics that is expected to lead to new diagnostics and/or therapeutics in medicine and biology.

Learn more about the process.

Support the Fellowship

The fellowship program is founded by SPIE and the family and friends of Franz Hillenkamp, as well as three Founding Labs: the Wellman Center for Photomedicine and the Manstein Lab in the Cutaneous Biology Research Center, both at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston (USA), and the Medical Laser Center Lübeck (Germany). 

Labs and organizations may further support the fellowship through partnership or industry sponsorship. Learn more.

Support the Fellowship

Meet the 2019 Fellowship Recipients

2019 Recipients Jie Hui and Andreas Wartak

Dr. Jie Hui of the Boston University Photonics Center conducts research focused on a light-based approach to treat MRSA-caused diseases. Dr. Andreas Wartak of the Wellman Center for Photomedicine will target an earlier, cheaper, and less invasive diagnosis of eosinophilic esophagitis (EoE).

Read the press release about Dr. Hui and Dr. Wartak, their work, and their award ceremony at Photonics West 2019.

The Fellowship Committee

Rox Anderson (Chair)

Gabriela Apiou (Co-Chair)

Jennifer Barton

Irving Bigio

Reginald Birngruber

Matthew Brenner

Ralf Brinkmann

Brad Ferguson

Jost Hillenkamp

Charles Lin

Dieter Manstein

John Parrish

Gary Tearney

The Fellowship Review Committee

Christoph Hitzenberger

Hans Joachim Laubach

Harvey Lui

Daniel Palanker

Joseph (Jay) Walsh