• Find a Course
  • Courses at Conferences
  • Online Courses
  • Course Recordings
  • In Company Training
  • Instructional Webinars
  • Education Outreach Resources
  • Technician Resources
  • Community College Programs
    Technician Scholarships
    Training Program Resources
  • Badges and Certificates
  • ABET
  • Contact SPIE Education
Print PageEmail Page

Programs Offering Technician Certification

Credit: Indian Hills Community College
Credit: Indian Hills Community College

A two-year college degree provides a foundation for technicians to develop a basic understanding of the use of lasers and optics-enabling technologies to access a career that is exciting, fast-paced, and always changing.

The following is a list of community colleges in North America that offer two-year programs in laser, optics, or photonics technician certification. The demand for technicians is high, and employers are looking to hire now. Find a program near you and be part of the solution.

Two-Year Community College Programs

Pima Community College
1255 North Stone Avenue
Tucson, AZ 85709
www.pima.edu
Larry Hong
Chair, Technology Department
520-206-6603
lazaro.hong@pima.edu

Pasadena City College
1570 E Colorado Blvd.
Pasadena, CA 91106
www.pasadena.edu
Dr. Brian Monacelli
Optical Engineer and Laser Technology Professor
Bmonacelli@Pasadena.edu

Front Range Community College
Boulder County Campus
2120 Miller Dr.
Longmont, CO 80501
www.frontrange.edu
Amanda Meier
Optics Technology Program Director
303-678-3796
Amanda.meier@frontrange.edu

Three Rivers Community College
574 New London Turnpike
Norwich, CT 06360
catalog.threerivers.edu
Daniel Courtney
Professor
860-215-9417
dcourtney@trcc.commnet.edu

Hillsborough Community College
4001 Tampa Bay Boulevard
Tampa, FL 33614
www.hccfl.edu
Tracy Barnes
Professor, Electronics and Computer Engineering Technology
813-253-7537
tbarnes@hccfl.edu

Indian River State College
3209 Virginia Avenue
Ft. Pierce, FL 34981
www.laser-tec.org
Moamer Hasanovic
Assistant Professor, Electronics Engineering Technology
772-462-7743
mhasanov@irsc.edu

Valencia College
1800 South Kirkman Road
Orlando, FL 32811
www.valenciacollege.edu
Radu Bunea
Professor, Electronics Engineering Technology
407-582-1360
rbunea@valenciacollege.edu

Atlanta Technical College
1560 Metropolitan Pkwy SW
Atlanta, GA 30310
atlantatech.edu
Harry Brockington
Program Chair
(404) 225-4623
hbrockington@atlantatech.edu

Young Harris College
1 College St.
Young Harris, GA 30582
www.yhc.edu
Arunava Roy
Associate Professor of Physics
(706) 379-5154
aroy@yhc.edu

Maui Community College
310 Kaahumanu Avenue
Kahului, HI 96732
maui.hawaii.edu
Elisabeth Dubuit
Instructor, Electronic and Computer Engineering Technology
808-984-3706
edubui@hawaii.edu

Idaho State University (2-yr program)
638 East Dunn
Pocatello, ID 83209
www.isu.edu
Rob Shroll
Instructor, Robotics and Communications Systems Engineering Technology
208-282-2886
shrorob@isu.edu

College of Lake County
19351 West Washington
Grayslake, IL 60030
www.clcillinois.edu
​Steve Dulmes
Department Chair
sdulmes@clcillinois.edu
847-543-6066

Indian Hills Community College
626 Indian Hills Drive
Ottumwa, IA 52501
www.indianhills.edu
Michael Shay 
Instructor, Laser/Electro-Optics Technology
641-683-5111, ext. 1765
michael.shay@indianhills.edu

Iowa Western Community College
2700 College Road
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
www.iwcc.edu
John (Jack) DeLong
Instructor, Laser Systems Technician and Electronics Engineering Technology
712-325-2345
jdelong@iwcc.edu
Diploma: Photonics System (32 credits)
AAS Degree: Photonics System Technician (68 credits)

Johnson County Community College
12345 College Blvd
Overland Park, KS 66210-1299
catalog.jccc.edu
Hugh King
Associate Professor, Electronics Technology
913-469-8500 x3204
mkingjr@jccc.edu

Bridgewater State University
Department of Physics, DMF225
131 Summer St, Bridgewater, MA 02325
www.bridgew.edu
Samuel Serna
Office phone number: +1 508.531.2040
Cell phone number: +1 617.460.7178
ssernaotalvaro@bridgew.edu

Springfield Technical Community College
One Armory Square
Springfield, MA 01102
www.stcc.edu/laser
Nicholas Massa
Department Chair, Optics & Photonics Technology
413-755-4579
massa@stcc.edu

Northwestern Michigan College
1701 Front Street
Traverse City, MI 49686
www.nmc.edu
Brian Sweeney
Adjunct Instructor, Electronics Technology
231-995-1385
bsweeney@nmc.edu

Wayne County Community College
8200 Outer Drive
Detroit, MI 48219
www.wcccd.edu
Emmanuel Njoku
Business/Laser Instructor & Advisor
313-943-4500
enjoku1@wcccd.edu

Anoka Ramsey Community College/Anoka Technical College
13200 Mississippi River Boulevard
Coon Rapids, MN 55433
www.anokaramsey.edu
Jon Olson
Director of Training, Manufacturing Technology/Industrial Engineering
763-433-1189
jon.olson@anokaramsey.edu

Southeast Technical / Minnesota State College
1250 Homer Road
Winona, MN 55987
www.southeastmn.edu
Marc Kalis
Instructor, Electronic Technology/Biomedical/Nano Technology
507-453-2674
mkalis@southeastmn.edu

Mississippi Delta Community College
289 E Cherry St.
Moorhead, MS 38761
www.msdelta.edu
Michael Stevenson
Industrial Maintenance Technology Instructor
(662) 246-6533
mstevenson@msdelta.edu

State Technical College of Missouri
One Technology Drive
Linn, MO 65051
www.statetechmo.edu
Derek Brown
Instructor, Electronics Engineering Technology
573-897-5184
derekl.brown@statetechmo.edu

Gallatin College/ Montana State University
101 Hamilton Hall
P.O. Box 170515
Bozeman, MT 59717
www.gallatin.montana.edu
Trenton Berg
Program Director, Photonics and Laser Technology
406-994-5147
trenton.berg@montana.edu

Camden County College
200 College Drive
Blackwood, NJ 08012
www.camdencc.edu
​Lawrence Chatman
Professor, Laser/Electro-Optic Technology
​(856) 227-7200, ext. 4523
lchatman@camdencc.edu

Central New Mexico Community College
525 Buena Vista SE
Albuquerque, NM 87106
www.cnm.edu
Michael Cranney
Associate Dean, School of Applied Technologies
505-224-3770
mcranney@cnm.edu

Monroe Community College
1000 East Henrietta Road
Rochester, NY 14623
www.monroecc.edu
Alexis Vogt, PhD
Professor & Endowed Chair, Optical Systems Technology
585-292-2685
avogt4@monroecc.edu

SUNY Ulster Community College
491 Cottekill Rd
Stone Ridge, NY 12484
www.sunyulster.edu
​Chris Marx
Associate Dean of Continuing Education
​(845) 802-7167
marxc@sunyulster.edu

Westchester Community College
75 Grasslands Rd
Valhalla, NY 10595
www.sunywcc.edu
Kyriakos Ioannou
Curriculum Chair of Electrical Technology
914-606-8561
kary.ioannou@sunywcc.edu

Cape Fear Community College
4500 Blue Clay Road
Castle Hayne, NC 28429
www.cfcc.edu
Mark Gray
Instructor, Electronics Engineering Technology
910-362-7391
mlgray27@mail.cfcc.edu

Central Carolina Community College
1075 E. Cornelius Harnett Blvd.
Lillington, NC 27546
www.cccc.edu
Gary Beasley
Lead Instructor, Laser and Photonics Technology
910-814-8828
gbeasley@cccc.edu

Wake Technical Community College
9101 Fayetteville Rd.
Raleigh, NC 27603
www.waketech.edu
​John Clevenger
Professor/Inst'l. Pgm. Director Electronics Engineering Tech
919-866-5328
jjclevenger@waketech.edu

Cincinnati State Technical and Community College
3520 Central Parkway
Cincinnati, OH 45223
www.cincinnatistate.edu
Larry Feist
Program Chair, Electro-Mechanical Engineering Technology – Laser Major
513-569-1428
larry.feist@cincinnatistate.edu

North Central State College
2441 Kenwood Circle
Mansfield, OH 44906
www.ncstatecollege.edu
Christina Barker
Professor, Industrial Technology, Manufacturing and Engineering Design
419-755-4710
cbarker@ncstatecollege.edu

Niagara College
300 Woodlawn Road, Mail stop: Technology
Welland, ON, CANADA L3C 7L3
www.niagaracollege.ca
Alexander McGlashan
Coordinator of Photonics Technology
905-735-2211, ext. 7513
amcglashan@niagaracollege.ca

​Clackamas Community College
19600 Molalla Avenue
Oregon City, OR 97045
www.clackamas.edu
​John Harding
PTF - Manufacturing - Elect Eng. Technology
​johnha@clackamas.edu

Oregon Institute of Technology
27500 SW Parkway Ave.
Wilsonville, OR 97070
www.oit.edu
Scott Prahl
Associate Professor, Optoelectronics Program Director, Electrical Engineering and Renewable Energy
503-821-1344
scott.prahl@oit.edu

Puerto Rico Photonics Institute/ Ana G. Mendez University
School of Science, Technology and Environment
PO Box 21150
San Juan, PR 00926-1150
cupey.uagm.edu
Jonathan Friedman
Director and Associate Professor
787-766-1717 x96617
jsfriedman@uagm.edu

Tri-County Technical College
P.O. Box 587
7900 Highway 76
Pendleton, SC 29670
www.tctc.edu
Dorian McIntire
Program Coordinator, General Engineering Technology
864-646-1481
dmcinti1@tctc.edu

Lake Washington Institute of Technology
11605 132nd Avenue NE
Kirkland, WA 98034-8506
catalog.lwtech.edu
Stephanie Bostwick
Assistant Professor, Engineering
425-739-8100
stephanie.bostwick@lwtech.edu

Spokane Community College
1810 North Greene Street
Spokane, WA 99217
www.scc.spokane.edu
Judy Irwin
Instructor, Electronics Technology
509-533-7133
Judy.Irwin@scc.spokane.edu

Blue Ridge Community and Technical College
13650 Apple Harvest Dr.
Martinsburg, WV 25403
catalog.blueridgectc.edu
​David Koritko
Professor, Physics & Advanced Engineering
304-260-4380 Ext. 3423
DKORITKO@blueridgectc.edu

 

Programs in the UK

   • South Devon College

   • Photonics Academy of Wales at Bangor

Dr. Alison McLeod
Senior Programme Manager (Photonics)
Technology Scotland
alison.mcleod@technologyscotland.scot 

For more information about programs and offerings please contact the schools directly. Contact information can be found on their websites.