SPIE Security + Defence technical conferences

Conference topics in sensing, data and signal analysis, optronics, quantum science, and optical technologies
Conference programme

Explore the technical conferences at Security + Defence 2021

SPIE Security + Defence is the event that crosses the divide between fundamental optical science and the application of the technologies in advanced defence and security systems. This is where researchers and scientists in disciplines in academia, industry, and government gather to share the latest advances.

Review all twelve conferences:

View conferences


Proceedings volumes for Security + Defence

Research to advance your work

All paid conference registrations include one online volume for ongoing access. Preview the list of available research.

Thank you to our 2021 Security + Defence Chairs

Karin Stein

Fraunhofer Institute of Optronics, System Technologies and Image Exploitation IOSB (Germany)

Ric Schleijpen

TNO Defence, Security and Safety (Netherlands)

2021 Technical Committee

Program Committee

Harro Ackermann, High Energy Laser Joint Technology Office (USA)
Paul M. Alsing, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Willy L. Bohn, BohnLaser Consult (Germany)
Henri Bouma, TNO (Netherlands)
Gerald S. Buller, Heriot-Watt Univ. (United Kingdom) 
Helge Bürsing, Fraunhofer-Institut für Optronik, Systemtechnik und Bildauswertung (Germany)
Andrea Camposeo, Istituto Nanoscienze, CNR (Italy)
Judith Dijk, TNO Defence, Security and Safety (Netherlands)
Miloslav Dusek, Palacky Univ. Olomouc (Czech Republic)
Yuris Dzenis, Univ. of Nebraska-Lincoln (United States)
Michael L. Fanto, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Maria Farsari, Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas (Greece)
Robert J. Grasso, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Mark T. Gruneisen, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
Frank Gumbmann, Rohde & Schwarz GmbH & Co. KG (Germany)
Duncan L. Hickman, Tektonex Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Richard C. Hollins, Defence Science and Technology Lab. (United Kingdom)
François Kajzar, Univ. d’Angers (France) and Univ. Politehnica of Bucharest (Romania)
Gary W. Kamerman, Argo AI (United States)
Robert A. Lamb, SELEX Galileo Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Martin Laurenzis, Institut Franco-Allemand de Recherches de Saint-Louis (France)
Luana Persano, Istituto Nanoscienze-CNR (Italy)
Radhakrishna Prabhu, The Robert Gordon Univ. (United Kingdom)
John G. Rarity, Univ. of Bristol (United Kingdom)
Mark A. Richardson, Cranfield Univ. (United Kingdom)
Neil Anthony Salmon, MMW Sensors Ltd. (United Kingdom)
Ric Schleijpen, TNO Defence, Security and Safety (Netherlands)
Ove Steinvall, Swedish Defence Research Agency (Sweden)
Karin Stein, Fraunhofer Institute of Optronics, System Technologies and Image Exploitation IOSB (Germany)
Robert James Stokes, Agilent Technologies (United Kingdom)
Attila A. Szep, Air Force Research Lab. (United States)
David H. Titterton, UK Defence Academy (United Kingdom)
Yitzhak Yitzhaky, Ben-Gurion Univ. of the Negev (Israel)
Roberto Zamboni, Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche (Italy)