• Optics and Photonics
    2018 Onsite News
    Nanoscience and Engineering
    Plenary Sessions
    Organic Photonics and Electronics
    Optical Engineering and Applications
    #eyeSPIE Photo Contest
    All Plenary Sessions
    All Special Events
    Job Fair
    For Authors and Presenters
    For Chairs and Committees
    For Exhibitors
San Diego Convention Center
San Diego, California, United States
19 - 23 August 2018
Print PageEmail Page

Developments in nanoscience, nanoengineering, and quantum science

The largest nanotechnology conference of its kind
SPIE Nanoscience + Engineering 2018

Nanotechnology is creating applications in such diverse fields as energy, medicine, information storage, and computing. Prepare to present in metamaterials, nanophotonic materials, plasmonics, quantum science and technology, nanomedicine, optical trapping, nanostructured thin films, spintronics, nanostructured devices, nanoengineering, nanoimaging, nanospectroscopy, and low-dimensional materials.

Build your weekly schedule using My Schedule and the SPIE App.

Important dates

Manuscripts due
25 July 2018 

Registration prices increase

3 August 2018

Book Your Hotel 
By end of July for best rates

View the conference content online
Register for the 2018 Conference, Courses, and Exhibition
Book your room by 30 July for best rates

2018 Nanoscience + Engineering Symposium Chairs

Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop

Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop
The Univ. of Queensland


Mark L. Brongersma

Mark L. Brongersma
Geballe Lab. for Advanced Materials (GLAM), Stanford Univ.


2018 Nanoscience + Engineering Symposium Co-Chairs

Harry Atwater

Harry Atwater
California Institute of Technology
(United States)
Nikolay Zheludev

Nikolay Zheludev
Optoelectronics Research Ctr.
(United Kingdom) and
Nanyang Technological Univ.

2018 Technical Organizing Committee

Massoud H. Agahi, Harbor-UCLA Medical Ctr. (United States) and Cedars-Sinai Medical Ctr. (United States)
Mario Agio, Univ. Siegen (Germany) 
André-Jean Attias, Univ. Pierre et Marie Curie (France) 
Hugo A. Bronstein, Univ. College London (United Kingdom) 
Stefano Cabrini, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States) 
Yong-Hoon Cho, KAIST (Korea, Republic of) 
Albert V. Davydov, National Institute of Standards and Technology (United States) 
Felix Deschler, Univ. of Cambridge (United Kingdom) 
Kishan Dholakia, Univ. of St. Andrews (United Kingdom) 
Jennifer A. Dionne, Stanford Univ. (United States) 
Elizabeth A. Dobisz, Spin Transfer Technologies, Inc. (United States) 
Henri-Jean Drouhin, Ecole Polytechnique (France) 
Alexander Egner, Laser-Lab. Göttingen e.V. (Germany) 
Nader Engheta, Univ. of Pennsylvania (United States) 
Stavroula Foteinopoulou, The Univ. of New Mexico (United States) 
M. Saif Islam, Univ. of California, Davis (United States) 
Henri Jaffrès, Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France) 
Satoshi Kawata, Osaka Univ. (Japan) 
Thomas Kirchartz, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH (Germany) 
Nobuhiko P. Kobayashi, Univ. of California, Santa Cruz (United States) 
Akhlesh Lakhtakia, The Pennsylvania State Univ. (United States) 
Mark Lawrence, Stanford Univ. (United States) 
Gilles Lérondel, Univ. de Technologie Troyes (France) 
Tom G. Mackay, The Univ. of Edinburgh (United Kingdom) 
Oleg Mitrofanov, Univ. College London (United Kingdom) 
Hooman Mohseni, Northwestern Univ. (United States) 
Taleb Mokari, Ben-Gurion Univ. of the Negev (Israel) 
Mikhail A. Noginov, Norfolk State Univ. (United States) 
Balaji Panchapakesan, Worcester Polytechnic Institute (United States) 
José Luis Pau Vizcaíno, Univ. Autónoma de Madrid (Spain) 
Manijeh Razeghi, Northwestern Univ. (United States) 
Anne E. Sakdinawat, SLAC National Accelerator Lab. (United States) 
Adam M. Schwartzberg, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (United States) 
Matthew T. Sheldon, Texas A&M Univ. (United States) 
Cesare Soci, Nanyang Technological Univ. (Singapore) 
Gabriel C. Spalding, Illinois Wesleyan Univ. (United States) 
Kartik Srinivasan, National Institute of Standards and Technology (United States) 
Ganapathi S. Subramania, Sandia National Labs. (United States) 
A. Alec Talin, Sandia National Labs. (United States) 
Chee Hing Tan, The Univ. of Sheffield (United Kingdom) 
Takuo Tanaka, RIKEN Ctr. for Advanced Photonics (Japan) 
Din Ping Tsai, National Taiwan Univ. (Taiwan) 
Prabhat Verma, Osaka Univ. (Japan) 
Jean-Eric Wegrowe, Ecole Polytechnique (France) 
Nikolay I. Zheludev, Optoelectronics Research Ctr. (United Kingdom) and Nanyang Technological Univ. (Singapore)

Proceedings of SPIE

SPIE conference papers are published in the Proceedings of SPIE and available via the SPIE Digital Library, the world’s largest collection of optics and photonics research.  

The Proceedings are indexed in Web of Science, Scopus, Ei Compendex, Inspec, Google Scholar, Astrophysical Data System (ADS), DeepDyve, ReadCube, CrossRef, and other scholarly indexes, and are widely accessible to leading research organizations, conference attendees, and individual researchers. 

Journal of Nanophotonics