SPIE Britton Chance Biomedical Optics Award

The SPIE Britton Chance Biomedical Optics Award is presented in recognition of outstanding lifetime contributions to the field of biomedical optics through the development of innovative, high impact technologies. The award particularly honors pioneering contributions to optical methods and devices that have facilitated advancements in biology or medicine. Honorarium $2,000.

As a pioneer in the field of biomedical optics, Britton Chance (July 24, 1913 - November 16, 2010) made important contributions in a number of areas. He helped identify and elucidate the functional mechanisms of enzyme-substrate compounds and made advancements in breast cancer diagnostics, rf electronics, spectroscopy as a noninvasive analytical tool for clinical diagnosis, and radar. Britton Chance was the Eldridge Reeves Johnson Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry and Biophysics, and Professor Emeritus of Physical Chemistry and Radiological Physics at the School of Medicine of the University of Pennsylvania. He obtained two PhDs, one in physical chemistry at Penn in 1940 and one in biology/physiology at Cambridge University in 1942.

Read more about Britton Chance here


David Benaron
all.health, United States

For the development of technologies and the founding and co-founding of companies utilizing biomedical optics that advanced the fields of medicine and medical technology.

Past Recipients

2022 - Bruce Tromberg
2021 - Enrico Gratton
2020 - Steven Jacques
2019 - Samuel Achilefu
2018 - Tayyaba Hasan
2017 - Christopher H. Contag
2016 - David Alan Boas
2015 - Lihong Wang
2014 - Brian C. Wilson
2013 - James Fujimoto
2012 - Robert A. Alfano