• About the Society
  • Mission and Vision
    Officers & Directors
    Past Officers
    Fact Sheet
    SPIE Europe
    Policies and Reporting
    Related Organizations
  • Community Support
  • Advocacy
  • Get Involved
  • International Day of Light
  • Awards Programs
  • Press Room
  • Jobs at SPIE
  • Online Donation
Print PageEmail Page

SPIE Officers and Directors

SPIE Officers and Directors

SPIE is an international organization incorporated as a not-for-profit United States corporation. The Membership operates the Society through an elected Board of Directors, who establish various standing and ad hoc committees to conduct activities of interest to the Membership.

The Board and its Executive Committee also establish policy and strategy, assure that the Society Bylaws are followed in the conduct of Society business, and approve the budgets for expenditure of Society resources.

The collective talents of our Members make the Society a powerful force in the scientific community. Shaping the direction of that force are the members of the SPIE Board of Directors, Executive Committee, and Standing Committees.

SPIE Officers, Board Members and Committee Chairs can be contacted by emailing governance@spie.org.

SPIE Officers 2019

Jim M.  Oschmann   Mr. Jim M. Oschmann
Retired, Ball Aerospace & Technologies Corp., United States
Dr. Maryellen Giger   Dr. Maryellen Giger
Immediate Past President
The Univ of Chicago, United States
Prof.  John  E.  Greivenkamp   Prof. John E. Greivenkamp
Univ of Arizona, United States
Prof. David L. Andrews   Prof. David L. Andrews
Vice President
Univ of East Anglia, United Kingdom
Mr. Jason Mulliner   Mr. Jason Mulliner
Alluxa, United States
Dr. Kent Rochford   Dr. Kent Rochford
CEO, Advisor
SPIE, United States

SPIE Board of Directors 2019

Dr. Leonard P. Chen   Dr. Leonard P. Chen
Chair, Corporate & Exhibitor Committee (Board Advisor)
Raytheon Co, United States
(Term 2019-2019)
Dr. Julia M. Craven   Dr. Julia M. Craven
Sandia National Labs, United States
(Term 2019-2021)
Dr. Peter J. de Groot   Dr. Peter J. de Groot
Zygo Corp., United States
(Term 2019-2021)
Marta C. de la Fuente   Marta C. de la Fuente
ASE Optics Europe, Spain
(Term 2019-2021)
Dr. Judy A. Fennelly   Dr. Judy A. Fennelly
Retired, Air Force Research Lab, United States
(Term 2019-2021)
Dr. Bernard C. Kress   Dr. Bernard C. Kress
Microsoft Corp., United States
(Term 2017-2019)
Prof. Kazuo Kuroda   Prof. Kazuo Kuroda
Utsunomiya Univ, Japan
(Term 2018-2020)
Dr. Chris A. Mack   Dr. Chris A. Mack
Fractilia, LLC, United States
(Term 2018-2020)
Dr. Anita Mahadevan-Jansen   Dr. Anita Mahadevan-Jansen
Vanderbilt Univ, United States
(Term 2018-2020)
Dr. Kristen C. Maitland   Dr. Kristen C. Maitland
Texas A&M Univ, United States
(Term 2018-2020)
Dr. Jim J. McNally   Dr. Jim J. McNally
Applied Technology Associates
United States
(Term 2019-2021)
Prof. Fernando Mendoza-Santoyo   Prof. Fernando Mendoza-Santoyo
Centro de Investigaciones en Óptica A C
(Term 2017-2019)
Dr. Kyle Myers   Dr. Kyle Myers
U.S. Food & Drug Administration
United States
(Term 2018-2020)
Dr. Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop   Dr. Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop
Univ. of Queensland, Australia
(Term 2019-2019)
Prof. David D. Sampson   Prof. David D. Sampson
Univ of Surrey, United Kingdom
(Term 2017-2019)
Dr. Joanna Schmit   Dr. Joanna Schmit
4D Technology Corp., United States
(Term 2017-2019)