Share Email Print

Proceedings Paper

Design and implementation of the NUV/optical widefield Star Formation Camera for the Theia Observatory
Author(s): Paul A. Scowen; Rolf H. Jansen; Matthew N. Beasley; Daniella Calzetti; Steve Desch; Alex W. Fullerton; John S. Gallagher III; P. Douglas Lisman; Steven A. Macenka; Sangeeta Malhotra; Mark J. McCaughrean; Shouleh Nikzad; Robert W. O'Connell; Sally Oey; Deborah L. Padgett; James E. Rhoads; Aki Roberge; Oswald H. W. Siegmund; Stuart B. Shaklan; Nathan Smith; Daniel Stern; Jason Tumlinson; Rogier A. Windhorst; Robert A. Woodruff
Format Member Price Non-Member Price
PDF $17.00 $21.00

Paper Abstract

The Star Formation Camera (SFC) is a wide-field (~19'×~15', >280 arcmin2), high-resolution (18 mas pixels) UV/optical dichroic camera designed for the Theia 4-m space-borne space telescope concept. SFC will deliver diffraction-limited images at λ > 300 nm in both a blue (190-517nm) and a red (517-1075nm) channel simultaneously. The goal is to conduct a comprehensive and systematic study of the astrophysical processes and environments relevant for the births and life cycles of stars and their planetary systems, and to investigate the range of environments, feedback mechanisms, and other factors that most affect the outcome of star and planet formation.

Paper Details

Date Published: 10 August 2010
PDF: 10 pages
Proc. SPIE 7731, Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2010: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave, 77314Y (10 August 2010); doi: 10.1117/12.857475
Show Author Affiliations
Paul A. Scowen, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Rolf H. Jansen, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Matthew N. Beasley, Astrophysics Research Lab., Univ. of Colorado at Boulder (United States)
Daniella Calzetti, Univ. of Massachusetts Amherst (United States)
Steve Desch, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Alex W. Fullerton, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
John S. Gallagher III, Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison (United States)
P. Douglas Lisman, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Steven A. Macenka, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Sangeeta Malhotra, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Mark J. McCaughrean, The Univ. of Exeter (United Kingdom)
Shouleh Nikzad, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Robert W. O'Connell, Univ. of Virginia (United States)
Sally Oey, Univ. of Michigan (United States)
Deborah L. Padgett, Spitzer Science Ctr., California Institute of Technology (United States)
James E. Rhoads, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Aki Roberge, NASA Goddard Space Flight Ctr. (United States)
Oswald H. W. Siegmund, Space Science Lab,. Univ. of California, Berkeley (United States)
Stuart B. Shaklan, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Nathan Smith, Univ. of California, Berkeley (United States)
Daniel Stern, Jet Propulsion Lab. (United States)
Jason Tumlinson, Space Telescope Science Institute (United States)
Rogier A. Windhorst, Arizona State Univ. (United States)
Robert A. Woodruff, Lockheed Martin Space Systems Co. (United States)

Published in SPIE Proceedings Vol. 7731:
Space Telescopes and Instrumentation 2010: Optical, Infrared, and Millimeter Wave
Jacobus M. Oschmann Jr.; Mark C. Clampin; Howard A. MacEwen, Editor(s)

© SPIE. Terms of Use
Back to Top
Sign in to read the full article
Create a free SPIE account to get access to
premium articles and original research
Forgot your username?