Wang, Lihong V.

Company Website

Prof. Lihong V. Wang

Bren Professor
Fellow Member

SPIE Involvement: Retrieving Data, please wait...

Area of Expertise: Photoacoustic tomography, 3D photoacoustic microscopy, Ultrasound-modulated optical tomography, Mueller-matrix optical coherence tomography, Microwave-induced thermoacoustic tomography, Monte Carlo simulation of photon transport
Sign In to send a private message or view contact details
Lihong Wang earned his Ph.D. degree at Rice University, Houston, Texas under the tutelage of Robert Curl, Richard Smalley, and Frank Tittel. He currently holds the Gene K. Beare Distinguished Professorship at Washington University in St. Louis. His book entitled “Biomedical Optics: Principles and Imaging,” one of the first textbooks in the field, won the Joseph W. Goodman Book Writing Award. He edited the first book on photoacoustic tomography. He has published 380 peer-reviewed articles and delivered 382 keynote, plenary, or invited talks. His Google Scholar h-index and citations have reached 87 and over 29,000, respectively. His laboratory invented or discovered functional photoacoustic tomography, 3D photoacoustic microscopy, the photoacoustic Doppler effect, photoacoustic reporter gene imaging, focused scanning microwave-induced thermoacoustic tomography, universal photoacoustic reconstruction algorithm, frequency-swept ultrasound-modulated optical tomography, time-reversed ultrasonically encoded (TRUE) optical focusing, sonoluminescence tomography, Mueller-matrix OCT, optical coherence computed tomography, and oblique-incidence reflectometry. His Monte Carlo model of photon transport in scattering media is used worldwide. He has received 36 research grants as the principal investigator with a cumulative budget of over $44M. Professor Wang is a Fellow of the AIMBE, IEEE, OSA, and SPIE. He is the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Biomedical Optics. He chairs the annual conference on Photons plus Ultrasound. Wang serves as the founding chairs of the scientific advisory boards for two companies. He received NIH’s FIRST, NSF’s CAREER, and NIH Director’s Pioneer awards. He was awarded the OSA C.E.K. Mees Medal, IEEE Technical Achievement Award, and IEEE Biomedical Engineering Award for “seminal contributions to photoacoustic tomography and Monte Carlo modeling of photon transport in biological tissues and for leadership in the international biophotonics community.”
Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...
Publications Most Recent Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...
Conference Committee
Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...
Course Instructor Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...
Newsroom Most Recent | Show All
Retrieving Data, please wait...