San Diego Convention Center
San Diego, California, United States
11 - 15 August 2019
Search Open Calls:    go

Developments in nanoscience, nanoengineering, and quantum science

The largest nanotechnology conference of its kind
SPIE Nanoscience + Engineering

Nanotechnology is creating applications in such diverse fields as energy, medicine, information storage, and computing. Prepare to present in metamaterials, nanophotonic materials, plasmonics, quantum science and technology, nanomedicine, optical trapping, nanostructured thin films, spintronics, nanostructured devices, nanoengineering, nanoimaging, nanospectroscopy, and low-dimensional materials.

View full online conference listing


Important dates

Abstracts Due
30 January 2019

Author Notification
8 April 2019

Manuscripts due
17 July 2019 

2019 Nanoscience + Engineering Symposium Chairs and Co-chairs

Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop

Symposium Chair

Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop
The Univ. of Queensland


Mark L. Brongersma

Symposium Chair

Mark L. Brongersma
Geballe Lab. for Advanced Materials (GLAM), Stanford Univ.


Reuven Gordon

Symposium Co-chair

Reuven Gordon
Univ. of Victoria

Natalia M. Litchinitser

Symposium Co-chair

Natalia M. Litchinitser
Duke Univ.

2019 Technical Organizing Committee

2019 Nanoscience Program Chair: David L. Andrews, Univ. of East Anglia (UK)
Massoud H. Agahi, Harbor-UCLA Medical Ctr. (USA) and Cedars-Sinai Medical Ctr. (USA)
Mario Agio, Univ. Siegen (Germany)
André-Jean Attias, Univ. Pierre et Marie Curie (France)
Hugo A. Bronstein, Univ. of Cambridge (United Kingdom)
Stefano Cabrini, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (USA)
Yong-Hoon Cho, KAIST (Korea, Republic of)
Albert V. Davydov, National Institute of Standards and Technology (USA)
Kishan Dholakia, Univ. of St. Andrews (United Kingdom)
Henri-Jean Drouhin, Ecole Polytechnique (France)
Alexander Egner, Laser-Lab. Göttingen e.V. (Germany)
Nader Engheta, Univ. of Pennsylvania (USA)
Stavroula Foteinopoulou, The Univ. of New Mexico (USA)
M. Saif Islam, Univ. of California, Davis (USA)
Henri Jaffrès, Unité Mixte de Physique CNRS/Thales (France)
Satoshi Kawata, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Nobuhiko P. Kobayashi, Univ. of California, Santa Cruz (USA)
Gilles Lérondel, Univ. de Technologie Troyes (France)
Oleg Mitrofanov, Univ. College London (United Kingdom)
Hooman Mohseni, Northwestern Univ. (USA)
Taleb Mokari, Ben-Gurion Univ. of the Negev (Israel)
Mikhail A. Noginov, Norfolk State Univ. (USA)
Balaji Panchapakesan, Worcester Polytechnic Institute (USA)
Manijeh Razeghi, Northwestern Univ. (USA)
Adam M. Schwartzberg, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab. (USA)
Matthew T. Sheldon, Texas A&M Univ. (USA)
Cesare Soci, Nanyang Technological Univ. (Singapore)
Gabriel C. Spalding, Illinois Wesleyan Univ. (USA)
Ganapathi S. Subramania, Sandia National Labs. (USA)
Atsushi Taguchi, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
A. Alec Talin, Sandia National Labs. (USA)
Takuo Tanaka, RIKEN Ctr. for Advanced Photonics (Japan)
Din Ping Tsai, National Taiwan Univ. (Taiwan)
Prabhat Verma, Osaka Univ. (Japan)
Jean-Eric Wegrowe, Ecole Polytechnique (France)
Nikolay I. Zheludev, Optoelectronics Research Ctr. (United Kingdom) and Nanyang Technological Univ. (Singapore)

Proceedings of SPIE

SPIE conference papers are published in the Proceedings of SPIE and available via the SPIE Digital Library, the world’s largest collection of optics and photonics research.  

The Proceedings are indexed in Web of Science, Scopus, Ei Compendex, Inspec, Google Scholar, Astrophysical Data System (ADS), DeepDyve, ReadCube, CrossRef, and other scholarly indexes, and are widely accessible to leading research organizations, conference attendees, and individual researchers. 

Journal of Nanophotonics